top of page

Scratch Generate

On March 24, our class was assigned to use Scratch to create a project that would randomly generate different outcomes, the random outcomes were up to us students.





To start my project I had to view previous works, as well as examples that our professor provided. I was a bit confused when I started mine, and didn't know where to begin. I didn't have a grand idea I wanted to work with. So I started with a bowl of cheese puffs.





I tested the knowledge that I gained from previous works, and Scratch had already provided a code that would help create these random generations. All I had to do was choose what aspect of the cheese puffs I would like change and pick a number scale that these changes would occur. For the cheese puff bowl, when clicked it can change different sizes, different colors, and even warp randomly.





Slowly as I messed with the cheese puffs image, I realized that the bowl seemed lonely on its blank canvas. So I slowly began building up a small story. I added a happy fellow to enjoy the delicious meal of cheese puffs. I began testing how I could also create random generations with him. Eventually I enjoyed how he could change random colors with a click. However, this happy fellow needed more to his table. So, I added a second meal. A fortune cookie that could randomly turn when clicked, as well as make a cartoon bite sound effect. I also decided he was at a restaurant and added a restaurant sound effect.





I had fun creating a story to the happy fellow as I worked on the project. I also learned how to create different generations using the "pick random" code block and how they would react to different visual effects such as color, whirl, size, and more. It also gave me a chance to start creating new project ideas and how to apply the generative knowledge to these ideas especially my new Impossible Project. That project will be using Scratch as a way to create my project idea of a music maker. For that I could use this lesson as a way to create dynamic animations to the idea in mind.


In classrooms, using Scratch is easy. It's simple to understand and the code block are simple to understand. The Scratch stage can be seen as a blank canvas and coding your materials to create dynamic and interactive works to share. Personally, this project had me thinking new ways to create random generations and how I could simplify the process. It can also help other students to start thinking of how they too could create their codes and ways they could simplify their process for needed outcomes.


 

Scratch creation:



bottom of page